Web Analytics Made Easy -
StatCounter

Premium Databases

 

Digital

Library

Materials

Libby/Overdrive

Libby/Overdrive

eBooks, Audiobooks, & eMagazine

Hoopla

Hoopla

eBooks, Audiobooks, Movies, Music, TV, & Comics

Kanopy

Kanopy

Movies

Job, Careers, & Skills Databases

Newspapers, Local History & Genealogy

Lynda

Lynda

Classes in digital art, programming, business, & more

Job & Career Accelerator

Resume & CV builder, job listings & more

Data Axle

Data Axle

U.S. white pages, job offers, dentist and doctor listings & more

Northstar

Northstar

Practice Digital Skills & Take Assessments

Rosetta Stone

Rosetta Stone

Learn and/or practice a new language

Newspapers

Newspapers

Ridgewood News, The Record, and more

Heritage Catalog

Heritage CATalog

Local History digital archive

Ancestry

Ancestry (Library)

Searchable genealogy database

Family Search

Family Search

Searchable genealogy database

General and Educational Databases

Ebsco Host

Ebsco

Databases (literary, business, medical, etc.)

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports

Find articles to compare products before you buy

Gale Learning

Gale Learning

Biographic and literary information databases

Salem Press

Salem Press

American and World History

 

Libby/Overdrive

Libby/Overdrive

All our digital magazines are now available through Overdrive/Libby.

Learn more here for more tips & how to find Magazines new and old.

Access free downloadable eBooks, audiobooks, and magazines (NEW) on supported tablets, smartphones, and e-readers. You can find our catalog over at ebccls.overdrive.com.

Great news for Kindle users

Overdrive supports all Kindle devices.

Browse, Download, and Read

Download the Overdrive or Libby App for your mobile device and start reading today!

Checkout Information

- Checkout Limits: Up to 5 items at once; magazines do not count towards limit

- Loan Period: 2 weeks

- Fines: There are NO fines for digital content

- Renewals: If no one is waiting on the item, you can renew three days before it is due.

- Holds: If a book isn't available, click "Place a Hold" and you'll be notified when it's available.

- Hold Redelivery: If you can't read a hold when it becomes available to you, but want to remain on the list, select the earliest date you want it delivered and you'll be given the first available copy then.

- Early Returns: Books can be returned by using the "Check In" option located on the “My Books” page.

 
Hoopla

Hoopla Digital (RPL cardholders exclusive)

A digital collection of over 200,000 streaming and downloadable movies, TV shows, music, ebooks, comics, and audiobooks that you can access on your computer or download to a portable device. Set up your account and start browsing collections.

Checkout Information

- Checkout Limits: Up to 4 titles per month

- Holds: There are none. This is because, if an item is on Hoopla, you can check it out right away.

- Loan Periods for: 

  • Audiobooks, eBooks & Comics: 21 days

  • Music: 7 days

  • Movies & TV Shows: 3 hours (72 hours) for most, 2 days (48 hours) for some

- Fines: There are NO fines for digital content

- Early Returns: Books can be returned early by clicking "return" underneath the item.

Download to Read, Watch, and Listen on the Go

Download the Hoopla App for your mobile device or computer and start reading today!

Apple App Store Badge.png
Amazon App Store Bage.png

For your TV/Alexa

Did you know Hoopla is available for Android TV, Roku, Fire TV, AppleTV and your Alexa?

For Android TV, Apple TV, & Roku: On your device, go to the app/play/channel store and download the app/channel.

For Fire TV: On your computer, go to the amazon appstore and search for "Hoopla." From the app, select your Fire TV device and click "deliver."

For Alexa: Go to the amazon skills page and search for Hoopla. Enable the skill and when you want to play a Hoopla audiobook or music, say "Alexa, ask hoopla..."

 

Kanopy (RPL cardholders exclusive)

Kanopy

Access over 26,000 independent, international, classic, or documentary films, from producers and distributors such as Great Courses, Criterion Collection, PBS, and more.​ Visit the Kanopy website and start watching today.

Browse, Stream, and Watch

Download the Hoopla App for your mobile device or Smart TV/Roku and start watching today!

Apple App Store Badge.png
Amazon App Store Bage.png

Checkout Information

- Checkout Limits: Up to 4 titles per month

- Holds: There are none. This is because, if an item is on Kanopy, you can check it out right away.

- Loan Periods: 3 days (72 hours)

- Fines: There are NO fines for digital content

- Early Returns: Books can be returned early by clicking "return" underneath the item.

Films are streamed from Kanopy's servers.

We encourage using a wired or wireless internet connection.​​

Job, Careers, & Skills

 

3,000+ courses that include over 130,000 videos: business, design, web development, multimedia skills, software and more.

Lynda.com

(RPL cardholder exclusive; Soon to be LinkedIn Learning)

Job & Career Accelerator

Resource for:

  • Creating resumes

  • Writing cover letters

  • Interview techniques

  • Career advice for first time and career changes

 

Plus millions of job listings.

Detailed info on:

  • 14 million U.S. businesses and employers

  • 89 million U.S. residents

  • 855,000 U.S. health care providers

  • Canadian businesses & residents

  • Job postings by field, location, company, etc.

(formerly ReferenceUSA)

And Introducing...

 
Northstar Digital Literacy

RPL is proud to be an official testing center for Northstar, offering access to their high quality, nationwide certificate program for digital skills.

Our Location ID is: RRNR

Sponsored by the Friends of the Ridgewood Library

Looking to improve your digital skills or learn a new one but don't know where you need to improve? Northstar makes it easy with simple to follow assessments and practice modules to help in a variety of subjects such as Internet Basics, Microsoft Word, Information Literacy, Career Search Skills and more.

Note: Not all courses have Northstar practice modules at the moment, however there are links to vetted resources for each module here.

Assessments do not require login but if you wish to save your scores and access practice modules, a free learner's account is necessary. To set one up, please contact erosner@ridgewoodlibrary.org.

Want to earn an official Northstar certificate for a skill? Contact the library to set up a proctored assessment by calling 201-670-5600 x130 or emailing ask@ridgewoodlibrary.org

 

Rosetta Stone

Provided by the State Library, learn and practice a new language (including English) with your library card through Rosetta Stone. Visit this link to access it.

Download and Learn

Download Rosetta Stone: Learn Languages for your mobile device and start learning today!

Rosetta Stone on the Apple App Store Badge
Rosetta Stone on the Amazon App Store Bage

Important note for mobile app users

You must access Rosetta Stone through your phone's internet browser (Safari, Chrome, etc.) instead of through the app to sign-in correctly. The app will open after following the sign-in procedure.

 

Online Newspapers

To access Newspaper Archive or Newspapers.com from home, send:

Your first and last name & Your BCCLS card number

via

Email to ask@ridgewoodlibrary.org or a chat message (red box to the bottom right of the webpage)​

Historical

Newspapers.com (Ridgewood News)

1891-Present. (In library use only)

Ridgewood News ONLY.

Temporarily available remotely to Ridgewood cardholders.

Newspaper Archive

Historical Newspapers from 12 countries dating back to 1607. Available remotely to all Ridgewood cardholders & members of the GSBC

1851-2016.

Ridgewood Library Card required.

Current

(2010-Present)

The Ridgewood News
The Record

(In library use only)

 

The Heritage Center collections contains a wealth of documents and photos that preserves the memories of local peoples, communities, institutions, and individuals.

  • Supports the creation of the heritage of the future.

  • Provides information, education, culture and inspiration to the patrons.

Heritage Catalog.JPG

Click the image to access the Heritage CATalog

 

Genealogy Databases 

Big Tree

To access Ancestry Library Edition from home, send:

Your first and last name & Your Ridgewood card number

via

Email to ask@ridgewoodlibrary.org or a chat message (red box to the bottom right of the webpage)​

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition offers access to 705 million US names, US census images, and the UK/Ireland collection.

The searchable database includes records to assist in family research.

Temporarily accessible remotely by Ridgewood cardholders and GSBC members

FamilySearch.org provides genealogy resources in a searchable platform. RPL is an Affiliate Library which allows researchers to view additional records.

Family Search

Affiliate Library Records Available at Ridgewood Public Library ONLY.

Research Databases

 
EBSCO host

Aggregate of around 20 reference, literary, business, scholarly, and general databases, focusing on research and educational resources.

Partial list includes:

  • Academic Search Premier & Consumer Reports (a sub-set of the former)

  • GreenFILE (human impact on the environment) 

  • Points of View Reference Center (contentious issues & sources discussing them)

  • Primary Search Reference eBook Collection

  • Legal Information Reference Center

  • OpenDissertations (historical & current doctoral dissertations and thesis)

 

Other Reference Databases

 
Salem Press

American and World History textbooks & reference materials

(Remote available only to RPL cardholders only)

Two databases: One focused on biographical materials. One focused on literary works and figures.

Library Hours

Monday - Thursday

Friday

Saturday

Sunday

Holiday Closings

9am - 7pm

9am - 6pm

9am - 5pm

1pm - 5pm

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • YouTube