Web Analytics Made Easy -
StatCounter
 

Award Winners

2021 Winner:
When You Trap a Tiger
by Tae Keller

Would you make a deal with a magical tiger? This uplifting story brings Korean folklore to life as a girl goes on a quest to unlock the power of stories and save her grandmother.

Some stories refuse to stay bottled up...

When Lily and her family move in with her sick grandmother, a magical tiger straight out of her halmoni's Korean folktales arrives, prompting Lily to unravel a secret family history. Long, long ago, Halmoni stole something from the tigers. Now they want it back. And when one of the tigers approaches Lily with a deal--return what her grandmother stole in exchange for Halmoni's health--Lily is tempted to agree. But deals with tigers are never what they seem! With the help of her sister and her new friend Ricky, Lily must find her voice...and the courage to face a tiger.

51T6FgM6yxL._AC_SY400_.jpg

2021 Honor Books

71hAun1rI8L.jpg
91ZnsGqk63L.jpg
9781984815682.jpeg
45306307.jpg

All Thirteen
by Christina Soontornvat

BOX
by Carol Boston Weatherford

Fighting Words
by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

We Dream of Space
by Erin Entrada Kelly

91JTKSho-AL._AC_UL600_SR423,600_.jpg

A Wish in the Dark
by Christina Soontornvat

Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal honors the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal honors the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

9781250203557.jpg

2021 Winner:
We Are Water Protectors
by Carole Lindstrome

Water is the first medicine. It affects and connects us all... When a black snake threatens to destroy the Earth and poison her people's water, one young water protector takes a stand to defend Earth's most sacred resource. Inspired by the many indigenous-led movements across North America, this bold and lyrical picture book issues an urgent rallying cry to safeguard the Earth's water from harm and corruption.

2021 Honor Books

91VlebyLb9L.jpg

A Place Inside Me
by Zetta Elliott

51b0rPtGciL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

The Cat Man of
Aleppo

by Irene Latham, Karim Shamsi-Basha

51T0BBVjMCL._SX260_.jpg

Me & Mama
by Cozbi A. Cabrera

A1XjIR0b2jL.jpg

Outside In
by Deborah Underwood

Geisel Medal

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Medal honors the author and illustrator of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.

9781536204278.jpeg

2021 Winner:
See the Cat: Three Stories about a Dog
by David LaRochelle

 

What happens when the book gets it wrong? Max is not a cat-- Max is a dog! But much to his dismay, this book keeps instructing readers to "see the cat." How can Max get through to the book that he is a dog? In a trio of stories for beginning readers, author David LaRochelle introduces the excitable Max, who lets the book know in irresistibly emphatic dialogue that the text is not to his liking. Illustrator Mike Wohnoutka hilariously depicts the pup's reactions to the narrator and to the wacky cast of characters who upend Max's-- and readers' --expectations as the three stories build to an immensely satisfying conclusion

2021 Honor Books

91NhXwSQfML.jpg

The Bear in my Family
by Maya Tatsukawa

81u+jdwYSzL._AC_UL600_SR600,600_.jpg

What About Worms!?
by Ryan T. Higgins

9780735264984.jpeg

Where's Baby?
by Anne Hunter

Coretta Scott King Book Award

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. 

2021 Author Winner:
Before the Ever After
by Jacqueline Woodson

 

ZJ's friends Ollie, Darry and Daniel help him cope when his father, a beloved professional football player, suffers severe headaches and memory loss that spell the end of his career.

download.jpeg
respect.jpg

2021 Illustrator Winner:
R-E-S-P-E-C-T
illustrated by Frank Morrison

 

Aretha Franklin was born to sing. The daughter of a pastor and a gospel singer, her musical talent was clear from her earliest days in her father's Detroit church. Aretha sang with a soaring voice that spanned more than three octaves. Her incredible talent and string of hit songs earned her the title "the Queen of Soul." This Queen was a multi-Grammy winner and the first female inductee to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. And there was even more to Aretha than being a singer, songwriter, and pianist: she was an activist, too. Her song "Respect" was an anthem for people fighting for civil rights and women's rights. With words that sing and art that shines, this vibrant portrait of Aretha Franklin pays her the R-E-S-P-E-C-T this Queen of Soul deserves"

Pura Belpré Award

Pure Belpré Award honors a Latino writer and illustrator whose children's books best portray, affirm and celebrate Latino cultural experience.

2021 Author Winner:
Efrén Divided
by Ernesto Cisneros

While his father works two jobs, seventh-grader Efrén Nava must take care of his twin siblings, kindergartners Max and Mia, after their mother is deported to Mexico. Includes glossary of Spanish words.

81oBMcS16bL.jpg
9780358330707_hres.jpg

2021 Illustrator Winner:
¡Vamos! Let's Go Eat

 illustrated by Raúl Gonzalez

Little Lobo returns to share his love of food and wrestling in this delicious follow-up to Vamos! Let's Go to the Market from Pura Belpré Medal-winning illustrator Raúl the Third.

In this new Vamos! title, Let's Go Eat, Little Lobo is excited to take in a show with wrestling star El Toro in his bustling border town. After getting lunch orders from The Bull and his friends to help prepare for the event, Little Lobo takes readers on a tour of food trucks that sell his favorite foods, like quesadillas with red peppers and Mexican-Korean tacos. Peppered with easy-to-remember Latin-American Spanish vocabulary, this glorious celebration of food is sure to leave every reader hungry for lunch!

Jam-packed with fun details and things to see, the Vamos! books are perfect for fans of Richard Scarry and Where's Waldo?